The State of Illinois drunk driving laws start with the .08 percentage blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit. Like all states across the country Illinois prohibits driving with a .08 percent BAC or above. If you are under 21 years of age in Illinois there is a “Zero” tolerance for alcohol and driving. The penalties for a DUI conviction are severe and can vary widely. It is important to act quickly if you are charged with a driving under the influence. A DUI charge alone can immediately impact your reputation and livelihood. Attorney Thomas F. McGuire focuses on defending clients who are facing a variety of criminal charges, including DUI charges and other traffic offenses. He will vigorously defend you and will work to get your penalties reduced.
If you have been charged with DUI or other traffic offense, call Thomas F. McGuire 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 847.962.7187 to schedule a free consultation.
Possible Penalties for an Illinois DUI Conviction
- Drivers under the age of 21 convicted of a DUI offense face immediate revocation of driving privileges.
- First time offenders face a six-month automatic license suspension and misdemeanor charges with potential imprisonment of up to one year and fines up to $2,500.
- Second time repeat offenders face felony charges, up to one year in jail, with a mandatory 5 days in jail or 240 hours community service, a license suspension of at least five years, and fines of up to $2,500.
- Driver’s with a blood alcohol level of 0.16% or more or an injury-causing accident occurs as a result of the driver’s intoxication, he/she faces mandatory community service and possible felony charges.
- If a child is in the car with an intoxicated driver, the penalties increase considerably.